About friendship – part I

31 DAYS – a writing challenge – day twoUntitled-1         The building my parents moved into when I was one year old was recently build and all of us were the first residents. My brother was four. Our neighbours were mainly young, newly wedded couples with children about our age, so we grew up playing all together. We used to spread our blankets on the grass outside our building and play for hours. When the weather wasn’t good, I could invite someone over. Mom always encouraged me to be friendly and she was treating me and my friends with snacks and all kind of home made goodies. And so it happened that I was living on the same floor with my best friend, a lovely blonde little girl with blue eyes and the most beautiful toys and dresses I ever seen. Later on, she grew up to also be a very bright young lady.

       Between our flats was living a granny who often got visited by her daughter and niece. This new little girl, curly, brunette and still of our age, was very shy. She didn’t say much and she never had any toy with her. I’m a shame to admit it now, but on this grounds of apparent poverty and stupidity, as I thought of her silence, I didn’t liked her very much. We were only 6 or 7 years old, but I looked down on her. And it is only now, after all this time, that my heart feels for her and bleeds with bitter feelings of guilt and remorse for the sad little girl that had no toy. For the girl I even forgot for some years, as her grandma died at some point soon after. The apartment was sold, so her parents didn’t had reasons to cross the town and bring her to us anymore. And so it was wiped out from my life and mind.

       In the meanwhile, my friendship with the blonde girl grew every day stronger. We read the same books, we liked the same music, we shared the same tastes in fashion. We basically had the same interests. It was her bike I first rode and it was my console she played her first video game. She had a sister, I had a brother, but the bond we shared was much stronger, beyond family ties. It wasn’t a relationship imposed by kindred, it was a spontaneous union of our hearts. Less we knew about how sudden and definitive our ways would part. Her father made a bad deal and went in bankruptcy overnight.

       My sweet fairy like friend was probably too ashamed to tell me anything. Too fragile to discuss the matter. Too delicate and of too noble feelings to burden me with the drama she and her family went thru. She searched more the company of her textbooks and less of her friends. It was the year before highschool and she needed to study more. I understood that, but nevertheless, I felt excluded. Especially after her exams, when I hoped we’ll get back to our long hangouts, but we didn’t. Soon after that I heard they will move and I thought they buyed a mansion, as the plan was less than half of a year ago. But no. The flat was sold for covering her dad’s debts and they moved with her grandma, into a very little home. They now lived five people in only two small rooms. What a restrained cry must have been her silence. We’ve begun to see each other more seldom, then occasionally, until we didn’t meet at all. We never talked about it. Every time the subject popped out, I could see its chilling shadow being cast over the sweet face of my dearest friend. I didn’t had the heart to let her gentle being face such an ominous cloud, so we usually changed the subject. As quick as the fate changed our life. I lost her. We lost each other. We were too inexperienced to know how to handle things. Too young to know how to save our friendship amidst such terrible events that eventually drove us apart.

To be continued

2 thoughts on “About friendship – part I

  1. Thank you for joining me, Mindy. 🙂
    Yes, when we are young we are more passive. We expect that things get back on the right track by themselves. But time goes by, the days become months, years, and it’s not until too late that we realise the chances we’ve missed or the friends we’ve lost. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

